PRS Database regional rollout→
← All local guides
Local guide · east hampshire

East Hampshire: HMO fees by occupancy band, with the fee year unconfirmed

East Hampshire District Council licenses HMOs with five or more occupants and charges by occupant band rather than a flat fee. The HMO page does not state which fee year those figures belong to, the public register is deliberately partial, and no penalty amounts are published.

Loading map…
Covers the following postcodes
GU26GU30GU31GU32GU33GU34GU35
east hampshire · The local picture at a glance
Selective licensing (ordinary lets)UNVERIFIED - no designation found
Additional HMO licensingUNVERIFIED - no designation found
Mandatory HMO licensing (5+ occupants)Yes - £600 to £1,040 by band
Typical licence durationUNVERIFIED - not published
Unlicensed letting exposureUNVERIFIED - notice types listed only

Fees are banded by occupancy

East Hampshire charges by occupant band rather than a flat fee: 0 to 5 occupants £600, 6 to 10 £710, 11 to 15 £820, 16 to 20 £930, and 20 plus £1,040, payable at the time of application. The page does not state which fee year those figures belong to, and fees are normally reset each 1 April, so the fee year is UNVERIFIED - could not confirm on council website. The council publishes a prices for council services list and states that prices are decided annually, so check that list for the current year before budgeting. Applications are made through the GOV.UK licensing service for East Hampshire or on the council's own PDF form, sent by email or post to the Environmental Health team, and must be accompanied by a fire safety risk assessment, a fit and proper person assessment and a property plan.

Two-tier: the district licenses, the county does not

East Hampshire is a two-tier area. Hampshire County Council provides county services, while the district council is the housing and licensing authority for HMOs. A county search will not answer an HMO question for an East Hampshire address, and neighbouring districts in Hampshire set their own fees, designations and planning positions.

The register is partial by design

The public register is published in simplified form as a spreadsheet download, most recently dated May 2026, and deliberately excludes personal information. The full register, including licence holder names and addresses, is available in printed form on request. The register is updated periodically and does not include applications still being processed, so a recently licensed property can legitimately be missing from it. An absence from that file is not evidence that a property is unlicensed, and the council asks you to contact it if you believe a property is an HMO but is not listed.

Planning controls look different from the licensing picture. The only Article 4 direction found on the council's own site concerns conversion from employment to residential use, made on 31 January 2018 and applying to business areas outside the South Downs National Park, and it has nothing to do with HMOs. No HMO Article 4 direction, consultation or public notice was found, so whether permitted development for small HMO conversions is still available is UNVERIFIED - could not confirm on council website. Check with planning before assuming either that you need permission or that you do not. Add your property free →

On enforcement, the council's private sector housing enforcement page describes the toolkit rather than the tariff. Most housing is assessed under the Housing Health and Safety Rating System, and for the most serious category 1 hazards the council has a duty to act, with powers including improvement notices, emergency prohibition orders, emergency remedial action notices, hazard awareness notices, demolition orders and clearance areas. The page quotes no civil penalty amounts, no rent repayment order position and no prosecutions list, so penalty size is UNVERIFIED - could not confirm on council website, as is the term of a licence and whether renewal fees differ from new application fees.

Verify current designations via East Hampshire District Council's Houses in multiple occupation (HMO) page, its private sector housing enforcement page and its prices for council services page. Illustrative guide - scheme boundaries and dates change; general information, not legal advice.

National duties at a glance
Gas Safety Record (CP12)

Renewal tracked from expiry, reminders from 60 days out, proof of service to tenants logged. Knows the 2-month early-renewal rule that keeps your date fixed.

Electrical report (EICR)

Five years goes quicker than you think. Kept remembers so you don't have to - including the 28-day duty to give tenants a copy.

Energy certificate (EPC)

Expiry tracked from the certificate details you confirm - band E is the current minimum for most domestic private lets unless exempt, and proposed changes are flagged only when they become law.

Deposit protection

30-day protection window tracked from the day the money lands - not the tenancy date - with prescribed information logged.

Right to Rent checks

Check dates and follow-up dates for time-limited permissions, stored against each tenant.

Smoke & CO alarms

Smoke alarms every storey, CO alarms where required, checked and dated at the start of every tenancy.

RRA Information Sheet

A one-off duty for tenancies that existed on 1 May 2026. Who was served, when, and how - the £7,000 question, answered with a dated record.

PRS Database preparation

Preparation and export support for the future official registration process - clearly marked as planned.

Licensing (HMO & selective)

Selective licensing (ordinary lets): UNVERIFIED - no designation found. See the local picture above - every other duty applies exactly as it does nationwide.

How Kept helps in East Hampshire
Postcode-aware setup

Add a postcode and Kept resolves the council, location and local context automatically.

See more →
PRS Database preparation

Planned preparation and export support for the government's regional PRS Database rollout.

See more →