Landlord licensing and compliance in Harborough
Harborough confirms mandatory HMO licensing for qualifying homes with five or more people from more than one household, with a stated exception for some purpose-built blocks. Its fees page lists a £980 five-year licence but does not state that fee's year. Additional and selective licensing and any Article 4 direction remain unconfirmed.
Mandatory licensing and standards
Harborough says qualifying HMOs with five or more people from more than one household need a licence. It notes an exception for some purpose-built flats in blocks of three or more self-contained flats. The council publishes application and renewal information, standard conditions, 2026 amenity and space guidance, and a public register.
Confirm the current fee
The fees page lists £980 for a five-year HMO licence, but the HMO entry does not state a fee year. No separate renewal fee or instalment arrangement was confirmed. Ask the council to verify the amount before applying. Additional and selective licensing status was UNVERIFIED - could not confirm on council website.
Planning and enforcement
Harborough's civil-penalties policy includes failure to obtain an HMO licence as an example offence, but a local penalty amount, RRO details and published prosecution particulars were not confirmed. The attempted Article 4 page returned 404; that does not establish that no HMO-related planning direction exists. Check the planning service with the exact address.
Sources: Harborough District Council HMO guidance, fees page, housing enforcement and civil-penalties policy pages. Verify the current fee year, other licensing designations and property-specific planning controls with the council. Illustrative guide - scheme boundaries and dates change; general information, not legal advice.
Renewal tracked from expiry, reminders from 60 days out, proof of service to tenants logged. Knows the 2-month early-renewal rule that keeps your date fixed.
Five years goes quicker than you think. Kept remembers so you don't have to - including the 28-day duty to give tenants a copy.
Expiry tracked from the certificate details you confirm - band E is the current minimum for most domestic private lets unless exempt, and proposed changes are flagged only when they become law.
30-day protection window tracked from the day the money lands - not the tenancy date - with prescribed information logged.
Check dates and follow-up dates for time-limited permissions, stored against each tenant.
Smoke alarms every storey, CO alarms where required, checked and dated at the start of every tenancy.
A one-off duty for tenancies that existed on 1 May 2026. Who was served, when, and how - the £7,000 question, answered with a dated record.
Preparation and export support for the future official registration process - clearly marked as planned.
Selective licensing (ordinary lets): UNVERIFIED - could not confirm on council website. See the local picture above - every other duty applies exactly as it does nationwide.
Add a postcode and Kept resolves the council, location and local context automatically.
Planned preparation and export support for the government's regional PRS Database rollout.